What is AGLOA?

The Academic Games Leagues of America (AGLOA) is a non-profit organization formed in 1991 to encourage and conduct academic competitions at the local and national level. Players receive recognition and rewards in the same way that sports champions are honored. AGLOA is dedicated to developing “Thinking Kids” of character, excellence, and integrity.

Who Plays?

AGLOA welcomes any student in Grades 4 – 12 to join and play the academic games. A student may play as an individual but most play in teams of five.

Players compete in one of four divisions, according to their grade level:

  • Elementary (4-6)
  • Middle (7-8)
  • Junior (9-10)
  • Senior (11-12)

Participants compete in one or more of six different academic games events. Players first learn to play at their schools, and compete against students from other schools in their local area. Winners move up to Regional events and the National Tournament.

What is Learned in an Academic Games Competition?

Mathematics, language arts, and social studies are the core subjects for the various games. Players often learn and apply important concepts in these subjects before they are learned in school. Strategy, in addition to knowledge, is a key component in each of the six Academic Games competitions. It is not enough to know the subject matter (though the more a player knows, the better the player will be). Players must also develop courage, character, and poise in applying their knowledge while competing against opponents.

Promotional Video

Comments are closed.