Presidents Quiz – January 2013

This month’s theme: Events in January of the president’s term

1. George Washington
2. John Adams
3. Thomas Jefferson
4. James Madison
5. James Monroe
6. John Quincy Adams
7. Andrew Jackson
8. Martin Van Buren
9. William Henry Harrison
10. John Tyler
11. James Polk
12. Zachary Taylor

#1-12: On January 27 of my third year in the White House, Sen. Daniel Webster of Massa­chusetts (pictured) spoke this memorable line in a debate: “Liberty and Union, now and forever, one and inseparable!” Webster argued that the Union was stronger than the separate states and that its acts could not be nullified by them, as was being proposed by Senator Robert Hayne of South Carolina.


#13-24: In the mid-term elections of my first term as president, the Republicans kept control of both houses of Congress. When the new Congress opened in January, my party enjoyed a 39-12 majority in the Senate and 103-80 majority in the House. Three years later, on January 15, I received word that troops had taken over Fort Fisher, NC.

13. Millard Fillmore
14. Franklin Pierce
15. James Buchanan
16. Abraham Lincoln
17. Andrew Johnson
18. Ulysses S. Grant
19. Rutherford Hayes
20. James Garfield
21. Chester A. Arthur
22. Grover Cleveland
23. Benjamin Harrison
24. Grover Cleveland
25. William McKinley
26. Theodore Roosevelt
27. William Taft
28. Woodrow Wilson
29. Warren Harding
30. Calvin Coolidge
31. Herbert Hoover
32. Franklin Roosevelt
33. Harry Truman
34. Dwight Eisenhower

#25-34: My second inauguration was the first one ever held on January 20 following ratification of the 20th Amendment.


#35-44: On January 16 of my fourth year in office, the Dallas Cowboys defeated the Miami Dolphins 24-3 in Super Bowl VI in New Orleans. A year later, on January 30, two former members of my reelection campaign, James W. McCord and G. Gordon Liddy, were convicted of breaking into and illegally wiretapping the Democratic Party headquarters. Five others involved had earlier pleaded guilty.

35. John F. Kennedy
36. Lyndon B. Johnson
37. Richard Nixon
38. Gerald Ford
39. Jimmy Carter
40. Ronald Reagan
41. George H.W. Bush
42. Bill Clinton
43. George W. Bush
44. Barack Obama

Note: Elementary/Middle Divisions play presidents #25-44 in 2012-13.

Want to learn more about the 57th Presidential Inaguaration? Visit the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies website.

Comments are closed.